Integrity Champion Awards 2016


The United Nations’ International Anti-Corruption Day (IAC) commemorated annually on 9th December provides government, leaders, anti-corruption agencies, civil society organizations, private sector and citizens with an opportunity to reflect and engage in the fight against corruption and advocate for greater transparency, accountability, integrity and better service delivery from leaders and public institutions.

So far in 2016, high-profile corruption scandals have implicated top leadership of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), the Ethics & Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) as well as the Supreme Court of Kenya. Kenyans continue to experience the negative effects of a deepened lack of integrity in the management of public resources, increased impunity and disregard for the rule of law.

The Integrity Champion Awards are intended to inspire hope and increase direct citizen action and engagement in the anti-corruption struggle.  The awards recognise the power of active citizenship in disrupting corruption and demanding accountability. The Awards reinforce the need to identify and celebrate publicly institutions, whistle blowers and ordinary citizens who have taken action, however small, to shine the light of integrity and fight corruption in their own spaces.

Award Categories

The Integrity Champion Award 2016 will receive and evaluate entries in two categories namely Institutions/Organisations and Individual categories. The institutional/organization category encompasses both government and non-governmental entities in Kenya.

Entry Rules

  1. One shall not self-nominate, or nominate a member of one’s family.
  2. Information provided on the nominee must be independently verifiable.
  3. An award shall be revoked if the information received regarding the nominee is later found to have been fraudulent, incorrect or include a misrepresentation.
  4. A decision may be made to award NO prize in any category.
  5. The Award Panel’s decision shall be final.

Awards Committee

The Nominations Review & Awards Committee shall comprise Mzalendo Trust, TI-Kenya, SID, ACAC, and Inuka Kenya Ni Sisi! and their partners.